Office vs Studio

Things could get a lot messier


It’s my first full week in the new studio. A proper artist space, totally free from technology! What a radical idea. It seems to be working. By separating my working spaces I have freed up my mind and energy to produce more work in both places. It’s only week one but I’m hopeful.

It feels wonderful to be back in the heart of the city amid the buzz of other artists doing their thing. It feels a little like college only this time I’m able to use the additional 10 years of life experience stored within me. I’ve even settled on a project. I’ll not say too much now as every artist will know it can be crushing to reveal anything too soon. Embryonic stages are fragile. Let’s just say the life drawing has been instrumental in loosening the hand and eye. I enjoy the mark making so much but for me the work all starts with the Word.

I’ve been careful to place only what I need in the space. It’s all too easy to just transfer all the old clutter into my new fresh space. Running the risk of it simply turning into another ‘office’. But here I am in my original office space at home, in the sunshine of the window on my pink Habitat cushion with familiar objects around me and I can honestly say it feels easier to write than ever. Removing the pressure to do everything from here has allowed me to do what I love – to write. It feels natural and liberating.

Did I mention too that I’ve finished a new song? I have placed a second guitar at the studio – restrung and tuned up yesterday. It began at home on the sofa as songs often do. Amid tears and usual soul searching the words came as they needed to. (Forgive the accidental rhyming here). I know it’s complete as I can’t turn it off in my head. It’s called Restlessness and will make the album which is of course still a priority and not forgotten amid all this other work.

Here’s what’s coming up:
GIG – The Bull, Ditchling on Sunday 2nd May, from 8pm, Free entry
WRITING WORKSHOP – The Kemp Town Bookshop, Brighton on Sunday 9th May, 11.30am-2.30pm, £35/£30 (Call to book 01273 682110)
GIG – Three and Ten, Brighton on Tuesday 17th June, from 8pm, £5/£3

Also, new Live video footage and the re-launch of the overhauled website coming soon…
Phew.

Leave a Reply

